Latest naija News, Entertainment, Sports, Music and Jokes Center, Naijauto

AMAA announces 2018 dates, call for submissions

The Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAA) has asked filmmakers to submit their feature, short, animation and documentary works for consideration before or on January 30.

AMAA organisers in a statement on Thursday said nominations will be announced in April while the 14th edition of the award will be held on June 2.

“Only films produced and released between June 2016 and January 2018 may be entered for this celebration of African cinema,” the statement read.

“The primary aim of the AMA Awards is to facilitate the development and the showcasing of the social relevance of African film and cinema. The awards are presented to recognize and honor excellence in professional filmmaking in the African film industry and the African Diaspora.

“Over the years, the award presentation has been attended by numerous international media representatives, Hollywood celebrities, Nigerian politicians, other African politicians, journalists, film industry professionals, and actors and actresses from across Africa.”

The 2017 African Movie Academy Awards which took place at the Eko Hotels Convention Center in Lagos state, was hosted by Nollywood actress Nse Ikpe Etim.

Awards were presented in about 30 categories.

The award for best African actor of the year went to Jahwar Soudani for his lead role in the Tunisian movie ‘Last of Us’ while the Congolese born actress Vero Tshanda won the best actress for her lead role in ‘Felicite’.

The Senegalese movie emerged the biggest winner of the night while Akin Omotoso won the best director award, and Nkem Owoh received the lifetime achievement award.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to NAIJABREZ

Subscribe to NAIJABREZ

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!